Janice Bryson Named 2016 CattleWoman of the Year

This year's Arizona State Cowbelles' CattleWoman of the Year, Janice Bryson, is an amazing woman of many talents.

She is a 5th generation rancher and a member of Arizona's First Families. Her family was involved in many aspects of Arizona's development, including cattle ranching. She lived on ranches in Florence Junction, Verde River, New River and Wenden.

She continues her family’s legacy by remaining active in legislative issues that pertain to the cattle industry and agriculture and is a member of the Arizona Cattle Growers’ Association (ACGA).

The ACGA named her their 2014 “Top Wrangler” for her work in preserving Arizona's cattle industry history.

Janice served as ASC President and on the Arizona Beef Council from 2005-2006. She is chair for ASC's Women in AG, Pioneer Day and Beef Promotion and Education Committees while also serving on the board for the Irish Culture Center and the Arizona Historical Society.

She has been a leader for 4-H for over 30 years and was inducted into the 4-H Hall of Fame in 2015.

The Arizona Culture Keepers honored Janice with their award in 2008 and she was given the Anam Cara Award for preserving Arizona's Irish-American Heritage in 2014. She co-authored the book Irish Arizona.

Arizona’s official state historian Marshall Trimble wrote, “[Janice’s] many contributions to the state and to the agriculture industry are outstanding.”

This year's CattleWoman of the Year makes sure the voice of the Arizona cattle industry is heard wherever she may be.

Congratulations, Janice! 


L-R: Past President Linda Brake, CattleWoman of the Year Janice Bryson, Janice's aunt Joanne Perry, Past President Lou Apperson. 

Past Arizona State CattleWomen of the Year:

2015   Keri Jelks, Canelo Hills
2014    Mary Jo Rideout, Red Rock
2013   Vicki Wilkinson, Chino Valley
2012   Lou Apperson, Sonoita
2011   Dorothy Steinhoff, Laveen
2010   Velma Tucker, Roosevelt
2009   Linda Brake, Elgin
2008   Linda Vensel, Patagonia
2007   Kathy Moore, Congress
2006   Daisy Mae Cannon, Duncan
2005   Doris French, Glendale
2004   Posy Piper, Patagonia
2003   Phyllis Gates, Mayer
2002   Lois Claridge, Safford
2001   Dorothy Johnson, Gilbert
2000   Ann Jeffers, Holbrook
1999   Peggy Monzingo, Benson